Photography

If you like photography, here’s a site about photograph composition. Talks about things like rule of thirds, golden triangles, negative spaces, etc. Just happened to stumble across it (I forgot what I was searching for in the first place! haha.)

Recently thought of investing in a DSLR, but that will be on hold till I can manage better photos. The Canon S90 currently serves me well, the only peeve is that it seems to absorb too much light when there are artificial lights around (e.g. wall lights, etc) –

Postgraduate Research Seminar @ LASALLE
See the lights? (This was taken at one of the College’s seminar recently. And yes the pretty lady who happen to look at me is one of our Master students ;))

I’m not too sure if it’s because it’s on auto and this happens, but I don’t remember this happening with my old camera. I shall play with it more and see how it goes.

Learning photography has always been in the back of my mind… somewhere (I can’t help but have so many other distractions that need time too!). Photographs are wonderful memories to keep, especially for people like me who have short term memory :p And don’t you like that nice warm feeling while you browse old photos?

Recently, I’ve also stumbled upon Will’s photography, 2011 in my eyes and in my words, when he got freshly pressed in June. He’s on a project to shoot a photo for 365 days. But there was another project he is working on that caught my interest – 100 strangers. To take portrait shots of people that you don’t know and to find out more about each individual.

Now that, that needs some courage. Haha. But hey, it’s a challenge, and an interesting one to learn and discover about the people, whom on a daily basis, might just be faces you walk by on the street…

2 thoughts on “Photography

  1. I’m struggling to fill my 100 strangers…lol. Thanks for reminding me. I’ll post one very soon for you!

    • Haha, you’re welcome ;) I think you’re already doing a great job with the daily shots… Having two different projects at the same thing can be quite challenging. But yes, I’ll be looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

