October 2011 Daring Bakers – Povitica

The Povitica challenge is brought to us by Jenni from The Gingered Whisk. When I first saw her challenge and the pictures of the bread, I couldn’t help but go ‘wow, what a pretty swirled bread!’, and silently hoped that my bread will turn out as beautiful… :p Bread isn’t something I’m comfortable baking, because I don’t do it often. It’s on my bucket list (I’m wondering how it got there!) because I’ve been putting it off for so long. And now happy to strike it off as I continue my journey of bread making. This is probably the 3 or 4 time I made bread this year, and it isn’t as daunting as expected. In fact, I’m starting to grow fond of making bread…

I did a 1/4 batch, and not having a big enough loaf pan, I opted using my 8 inch round pan. And here’s what I’ve got ;)

Povitica Innards!

I’m happy with how the bread and swirls came out! Was a little worried while making the dough, because in the midst of mixing everything… I realised I ran out of all-purpose flour. So I substituted about half of the flour with bread flour. Thankfully, it worked out fine ;)

I can see myself trying out other fillings mentioned by Jenni, such as apple/cinnamon, apricot preserves, and a sweet cheese (like cream cheese), etc. Or maybe a plain cinnamon swirled bread mmm…

Povitica innards

For those who are keen to try out the bread, here’s the full recipe with step by step instructions and pictures. Jenni also broke it down into half and quarter recipes in case you don’t need so many loaves of bread. Now excuse me while I go have a slice and my coffee…

4 thoughts on “October 2011 Daring Bakers – Povitica

  1. Great job!! Your povitica turned out really nicely! I always used to find that people made baking bread seem like it was so complicated, but am finding more and more that its not really that hard afterall! Good work!

    • Hey Jenni, thanks for your kind words! Also thanks for the challenge and sharing this wonderful Povitica recipe with us ;)

Leave a Reply

