Feb 2012 Daring Bakers – Quick Bread!

I baked this on Sunday and thought I could post it up on time! But procrastination set in on Monday, and then Tuesday.  Wednesday night was the start of the i-AM Festival, and I went to support the students at their event and exhibition openings from Wednesday evening onwards. Whoops.

Lis introduced this challenge for February, to make a quick bread with the following criteria –

  • No yeast
  • Can’t take more than 1.5 hours to prepare and bake through.
  • Only loaves or muffins/popovers

She shared a few recipes – a basic quick bread recipe from Sara Schewe. A prune bread recipe from her Aunty. The Meyer Lemon Loaf and Green Onion, Cheddar & Asiago Beer Batter Bread adapted from Recipe Girl. And lastly a Pumpkin Bread with Maple Cream Cheese Filling adapted from Dana Ramsey’s recipe. For the full post hop over here!

The beer batter bread and Pumpkin maple cream cheese was on my list. But as I did this late, I didn’t have the ingredients in hand. I had sour cream – so I went with that. Let’s test out muffins with sour cream! I’m a big fan of buttermilk, and been playing safe for a long time with that.

So I pulled out my recipe books to find a muffin recipe with sour cream, and found the All-Star muffins from King Arthur’s Flour. Rummaged through my cupboard and decided to make a variety of muffins – chocolate chip, earl grey, blueberry crumb and Reese peanut butter!

All-Star Muffins
(Adapted from King Arthur Flour Baking Companion: The All-Purpose Cookbook)
Makes 16 large muffins. The recipe turned out about 24 2 1/4 inch muffins for me.

Muffins galore!

Ingredients
3 1/2 cup all-purpose or cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
8 tbsp / 1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream

Additions:
– mini chocolate chips
– blueberries
– packets of earl grey tea (Twinings for me! Just use the leaves in the bags)
– Reese peanut butter cups, chopped

Streusel for blueberry muffins
(from Carole’s favourite Streusel from Great Coffee Cakes, Sticky Buns, Muffins and more)
7 tbsp unsalted butter
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

1. Melt the butter and let cool.

2. Whisk together the other ingredients. Add the butter and stir with a fork until blended and mixture begins to form crumbs. Let streusel stand for 10 – 15 mins.

For muffins:
1. Preheat your oven to 400 degree F.

2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in one bowl. In another bowl, whisk together sour cream and vanilla.

3. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar  until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

4. Add in the flour and sour cream alternatively in batches, starting and ending with the flour, mixing well after each addition.

King Arthur Flour All Star Muffin batter

5. Divide the batter depending on how many additions you want to make, and add them in at this point.

6. Spoon batter into your cupcake pan, about 3/4 full. For the blueberry, if you’re adding the streusel, fill your moulds only till a bit of 1/2 full, put some streusel, add a few blueberries, and top with streusel again. (If you fill it till 3/4 full, you’ll end up with streusel dropping all over like mine :p greedy me).

King Arthur Flour All Star Muffin batter with variations ;) From left: blueberry, chocolate chip, Reese peanut butter, and earl grey

6. Bake for about 15 – 25 minutes, depending on your mould size. Take them out once a toothpick comes out with a few moist crumbs.

 7.If you’re using muffin pans, tilt the muffins at an angle and leave to cool. This prevents soggy bottoms ;) If you’re using cups like mine, then just leave it to cool on the rack.

Earl grey muffins
Earl Grey

chocolate chip muffins
Chocolate Chip

blueberry crumb muffins
Blueberry

reese peanut butter cup candy muffins
Reese peanut butter

Muffin - innards
Muffin crumb!

Have fun with the muffins! And thanks Liz for this challenge ;)

2 thoughts on “Feb 2012 Daring Bakers – Quick Bread!

  1. Hi I would want to open a small chinese cake shop with me. I am living in london, Ontario in Canada. I had no other way to find a partnership with me. I saw your site and I wonder do you think either you or if you know anyone would like to be a business partnership with me? I am serious about this. Please , can you pass my massage to people you know. Thanks !

    Your sincerely ,

    Antonietta

Leave a Reply

