Sweet oatcakes – let’s snack! cookies and crackers (part 1)

I’m love snacking :P This is how my day usually goes – breakfast at 8am, lunch at noon, tea-break at 4pm, dinner at 7.30pm, post dinner snack at 8.30pm.  I don’t like big meals, and snacking helps with my gastric problems – it keeps me from getting too hungry and overeating.

Ever since I’ve moved up from level 2 to level 3 at my workplace, I’ve placed biscuits behind me to share the love of snacking (haha!).   Now that stash behind me is growing – my colleague Karen contributed crackers and her home baked pineapple tarts too! Now we have a happy little food corner behind me for hungry or munchy people.

sweet oatcake omnomnom..

Crackers and cookies are my favourite go-to snacks when I have the mouth itchies. Even at home we always have a stash of plain and sugar cream crackers.  So now I’m on a hunt to find cracker and cookie recipes to try, preferable those that go with coffee, tea or milo! As much as I like cookies and crackers, I’m not a big fan of preservatives in store bought food.

This first recipe is one shortbread trying to be healthy. *grin* It uses brown sugar, and has oats!

Sweet Oatcakes
(From King Arthur’s Flour The Cookie Companion)
Makes 2 9-inch oatcakes – sliced into 24 wedges

Sweet oatcakes

1 cup unsalted butter
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup + 2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup rolled oats, coarsely ground in a small food processor

1. Preheat oven to 150 degree C. Lightly grease two 9 inch round cake pans.

2. Cream together butter, salt, brown sugar and vanilla. Beat in the flour, baking soda and oats.

3. Divide dough in half and press into prepared pans, smoothing the top with your fingers. Prick the dough with a fork.

4. Bake the shortbread for about 35 – 40 mins, until it’s golden brown around the edges. Remove from oven and loosen the edges with a knife. Leave to cool for 5 mins, then carefully turn the shortbread out all in one piece.

5. Use a knife, cut each round into 12 wedges. Do this while the shortbread is warm. If you wait till it’s cool, it’ll be hard to slice ;) Leave to cool and enjoy your oatcakes!

Sweet oatcakes

While warm, the cookie is slightly crisp around the edges and chewy at the pointy side. Once cooled, it’ll firm up and become crunchy. If you like the taste of oats, and the caramel undertones that brown sugar imparts… this cookie is for you!

sweet oatcake crumbsss

Leave a Reply

