Digestive biscuits – let’s snack! cookies and crackers (part 3)

More snacking, yes. My goal for these home made cookies was so that it is healthier than store bought stuff. But I think all the baking is making me eat more instead hahaha. Experts say healthy weight loss is losing 1-2kg a month. I think I put on 2kg within these few months, so that’s considered healthy, yes? :S

Disgestive biscuits!

After baking these cookies, I realised I forgot one important step – to poke holes! No wonder it looks weird. I had a fun and frustrating time stamping the little digestive on these cookies. 1. the letters are small, and while trying to put them into device that holds them together, they keep slipping from my fingers, 2. I realised one of my extra ‘i’s are missing :( I used an upside down 1 for one of them (and it works, yay!), 3. having not used it for a long time, it took my a while to put digestive in reverse and mirrored, so that it stamps the letters correctly…

But I guess it was worth the effort – my mum thought they were store bought  cookies initially. Haha!

Compared to Graham crackers in my previous post, these digestives somehow taste less sweet. I do miss the caramel, honey undertones of the graham cracker though. So… I couldn’t help but coat some with dark chocolate. It goes fantastic-ly well with the biscuit!

Digestive Biscuits
(Adapted from King Arthur Flour The Cookie Companion)
Makes about 2 dozen biscuits!

Digestive biscuits

2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cup icing sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup cold milk

1. Cream the butter and icing sugar.

2.Add the vanilla and milk, beating until smooth.

3. Sift together the flour and baking powder. Add to the creamed butter mixture and mix until combined.

4. Gather the dough into a ball, flatten into disk and wrap in cling wrap. Refrigerate for several hours, or overnight.

5. Preheat oven to 175 degrees C. Line your baking tray with parchment paper.

6. On a lightly flour surface, roll the chilled dough until 1/8 inch thick. Using a round 2 1/2 inch cookie cutter, cut out your biscuits and place on baking sheet.

7. Stamp ‘digestive’ if you like, and please don’t be like me and forget to poke holes in your biscuits. Holely biscuits are good so they don’t puff up all over.

8. Bake for 15 minutes until they are pale gold. Remove from oven and leave to cool on cooling rack.

Digestive Biscuits

2 thoughts on “Digestive biscuits – let’s snack! cookies and crackers (part 3)

Leave a Reply

