Traditional baked mooncakes

Happy mid autumn festival everyone! :)

I know, I’m a day late… But I have to post this, because it’s a WIP that I wish to visit again next year. After my happy attempt with the snowskin mooncakes, it was time to start trying out traditional mooncakes!

Below’s my second attempt on the traditional moon cakes. I love these over the snowskin mooncakes, because as these ‘age’, you’ll get  a beautiful aroma nutty golden syrup aroma that’s so unique to mooncakes.

My second attempt… well, let’s say the appearance has much to be improved. Next year, I’ll get it right!
2nd attempt on traditional moon cakes. Not perfected, but still good (at least to me hah) :p

Traditional Mooncakes
(Adapted from Anncoo Traditional Baked Mooncakes)
Makes about… I lost count of how many! They were mini mooncakes though, about 2 inches big :)

Ingredients (for the dough)
600g Hong Kong flour (used Bake King’s)
360g golden syrup (used Kyle’s)
12g alkaline water
140g peanut oil

Ingredients (for the glaze)*
1 egg yolk
5g golden syrup
1 tsp water

1. Mix together sugar syrup, alkaline water and peanut oil.

2. Sift Hong Kong flour into a bowl. Pour mixture 1 into the flour and mix until well combined.

3. Let rest for at least 30 minutes (left mine to rest for 24 hours). After that, you’re ready to wrap some fillings!

4. For the 2 inch mini mooncakes, I make sure that the dough and filling adds up to about 55g. You can play around with the amount of filling and dough to get the combination that you want. I love the skin, so I tend to make my mooncakes with a thicker skin ;P

5. Once your mooncakes are stamped out, bake in a preheated oven of  180C for about 7 minutes. During that time, make the glaze by mixing together the egg yolk, golden syrup and water.

6. Remove the mooncakes from the oven after 7 minutes and allow to cool for 10 minutes. Brush on the glaze, and return the mooncakes to the oven for another 10 more minutes.

*I’m still working on the glaze, as it’s not as pretty as I like it to be. Maybe it’s my horrible brushing technique, or maybe i should just not glaze the sides haha. A friend of mine mentioned to do the glaze in steps – brushing the egg yolk before the first bake, followed by the golden syrup and water before the final bake. If you have any suggestions, I do like to hear from you! ;)

Leave a Reply

