Checkerboard cookies

I’ve started testing out my Christmas baking!

…Amidst the craziness at work. My department has recently gotten a new boss. It’s fun to watch the interactions between people, observing different working styles, and how some get along, while others just can’t, mostly cause of emotions, pride and ego.  While all that’s fun, more has been put on my work plate thanks to some special circumstances… So i’ve pretty much been sleeping the instant  my head hits the pillow. Did I mention before how much I love my bed and sleep?

Baking seems to be making me more tired, but it’s therapeutic to some extent. Haha. I love planning things to bake, and testing new recipes. That helps take my mind off things, and ensures I don’t stay at work too late – there are cookies waiting to be tested! It also helps that I have a colleague who loves baking sitting right next to me, so we end up talking about ingredients and techniques  a lot *grin*

These cookies are fun. They’re also so pretty to look at! I’ve made swirl cookies about 4 years ago, and told myself I needed to try out checkboards soon.  Flagrantedelicia’s cookie was on bookmark for the longest time ever in Evernote. And it didn’t get tested till this week… :x

Checkerboard cookies :)

Checkerboard Cookies
(From Flagrantedelicia’s Trianons recipe)
Makes about 55 2 x 1  inch cookies

Ingredients (Vanilla dough)
Vanilla dough:
150 g butter
100 g icing sugar
½ g vanilla extract
2 g salt
50 g egg
50 g almonds, powdered
250 g wheat flour, sieved

Ingredients (Chocolate dough)
150 g butter
100 g icing sugar
2 g salt
50 g egg
30 g almonds, powdered
250 g wheat flour, sieved
25 g cocoa

 1 egg, for gluing the dough together

1. Sift together flour, almonds (and cocoa for the chocolate dough).

2. Cream butter and sugar together. Beat in egg until well combined.

3. Add in the flour mixture from step 1, and mix until just combined.

4. Chill dough for at least 1 hour (I left mine in the fridge for 1 day ;))

5. Divide both vanilla and chocolate doughs into 2 sections (so you have 4 dough batches in total) Roll them out to about a 1 cm thick  rectangle. Stack them vanilla, chocolate, vanilla, chocolate – gluing them together by brushing a beaten egg in between the layers.

6. Put it back into the freezer to chill for about 15 minutes. Remove from fridge, and slice the dough lengthwise about 1/2 inch wide. Invert some dough strips, and glue them to another dough strip, making sure that their colours are alternating. You should get a rectangle longs now. Wrap them up and put it back into the freezer for 15 mins.

7. Pre-heat your oven to 180C now. Remove your rectangle logs, and your cookies about 1 cm thick. Place on baking tray.

8. Bake for about 10 – 15 minutes, until the vanilla dough is lightly golden brown.

This dough was a joy to work with. It retained its shape so well that I’m thinking of using this as my base butter / icebox cookie recipe this Christmas, and use it to make different patterned cookies, or add in other things like nuts or dried fruit :)

Leave a Reply

